Friday, December 23, 2011

"A Song For Me" A Muslim Holiday Story / Book with CD

I first heard about this book because
parental protests caused the Muslim mother and author to cancel a talk with students at A.M. Kulp Elementary School in Hatfield [in Pennsylvania].
I have not read it, but I hope to acquire it and add it to the list of children's books I've reviewed.

LookingGlassReview.com gave it a positive review.

Wednesday, December 21, 2011

Friday, November 25, 2011

Documentary on Pakistan Receives Sundance Grant

From the Sundance web site:


These Birds Walk (U.S. / Pakistan)
Directors: Omar Mullick and Bassam Tariq
A portrait of contemporary Pakistan is created through the eyes of an ambulance driver and a runaway boy who call a humanitarian and his mission based organization home. 


h/t Ebad-E News

Thursday, October 20, 2011

Amazing Grace, a children's story against racism

Amazing GraceAmazing Grace by Mary Hoffman

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Don't tell Grace she can't play Peter Pan in the school play!



Inspiring children's story. Good way to get kids thinking about biases based on race and gender.



View all my reviews

Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Urge Your Local ABC Affliate to Air "Waging Peace"

 From the National Council of Churches News:
Waging Peace will air on ABC at the discretion of local affiliated TV stations. Stations that decide to show the documentary will air it sometime between Oct. 23 and Dec. 18. Churches are encouraged to call their local ABC TV stations to urge them to air the documentary. 
  1. See if when or if your affiliate is to air the documentary
  2. If it isn't, contact your local ABC affiliate and ask it to broadcast the documentary.
WJBF, my hometown affiliate in Augusta, GA, has not yet made the decision to air the documentary. I already made my call! I also Tweeted my message to @WJBF!

Sunday, September 25, 2011

Monday, July 04, 2011

Review: Samarkand by Amin Maalouf

Maalouf, Amin. Samarkand. New York: Interlink Books; 1996. ISBN: 1566561949. Paperback. 301 pp.

This is the first historical fiction novel I've reviewed for this blog. Typically, I'm not thrilled with historical fiction because I had at one time entertained the idea of becoming a professional historian and the historical fiction I had read seemed heavy on the fiction side of the equation.

Saturday, April 30, 2011

Three Cups of Tea

Dr. Faroque Khan reviewed Three Cups of Tea in Vol 40, No 1 of the Journal of the Islamic Medical Association of North America.

Obviously there's been some controversy regarding the author Greg Mortenson and the Central Asia Institute.

My initial take is, "Where is 60 Minutes and the rest of the U.S. media regarding the tens of billions disappearing in Iraq and Afghanistan through the US military?" If the Central Asia Institute is corrupt, then should not there be daily stories on how rotten things are with the US occupations in Iraq and Afghanistan?

Lucinda Marshall (@MedusaMusings on Twitter) discussed the situation with FAIR Media Watch. She previously wrote a blog entry entitled A Cup of Rancid Tea, in which she argued that our belief in the effectiveness of the Central Asia Institute was based more on our romanticization of a hero than a genuine belief in human development through education.

Thursday, April 28, 2011

Review: Muslim Contributions to World Civilization

Muslim contributions to world civilization. By M Basheer Ahmed; Syed A Ahsani; Dilnawaz A Siddiqui.

Publisher: Herndon, VA : International Institute of Islamic Thought ; USA : Association of Muslim Social Scientists, ©2005.

Reviewed by Faroque Ahmad Khan in the Vol 38, No 2 Journal of the Islamic Medical Association of North America.

Review: Dying to Win--The Strategic Logic of Suicide Terrorism by Robert A. Pape

Dying to win : the strategic logic of suicide terrorism. By Robert A. Pape.

Reviewed by Dr. Faroque Ahmad Khan in Vol 37, No 2 of the Journal of the Islamic Medical Association of North America.

Review: The Ornament of The World—How Muslims, Jews, and Christians Created A Culture Of Tolerance In Medieval Spain

The Ornament of The World—How Muslims, Jews, and Christians Created A Culture Of Tolerance In Medieval Spain by Maria Rosa Menocal. Little Brown; 2002.

Reviewed by Dr. Faroque Ahmad Khan in Vol 43, No 1 of the Journal of the Islamic Medical Association of North America.

Monday, April 25, 2011

Review: Honeybee Democracy by Thomas D. Seeley

Honeybee Democracy by Thomas D. Seeley. Princeton University Press, Princeton, New Jersey 08540. ISBN 978-0-691-14721-5. Published 2010.

Reviewed by Dr. Faroque Ahmad Khan in Vol 43, No 1 of the Journal of the Islamic Medical Association of North America.

Thursday, March 24, 2011

The Taqwacores – Film Review from Media and Islam

The Taqwacores – Film Review from Media and Islam

Review: Carl Sagan: The Demon-Haunted World: Science as a Candle in the Dark

My first exposure to Carl Sagan was the catch phrase "billions and billions," which comedians attributed to him. I knew that he had a science show on United States Public Broadcasting. I had some notion that he was not a supporter of religion. But I frankly had no first-hand, in-depth knowledge of a person whom I've come to consider an important North American intellectual of the 20th century CE.

Wednesday, February 23, 2011

Updated Izzeldin Abuelaish Book Tour Schedule


I've previously reviewed Dr. Izzeldin's book and provided a tour schedule. Here is the tour schedule as of February 23, 2011.

WASHINGTON, DC
Monday, February 28, 2011
Sixth & I Historic Synagogue
600 I Street, NW
7:00 p.m.
Books will be sold by Politics and Prose

Sunday, February 20, 2011

Review: Al-Khidr: The Green One: Adult Book in Child's Body

Al-Khidr: The Green One
Story adapted by Hugh Talat Halman
Illustrations by `Abdallah Lipton

Technically, this book is very well done. No grammatical and spelling errors plague the text. The binding and paper are of high quality. The illustrations are amazing.

Friday, February 04, 2011

Review: Outcasts United by Warren St. John

Outcasts united : a refugee soccer team, an American town by Warren St. John
ISBN 0385522037, 288 pages

Warren St. John is a New York Times reporter, and I first heard about his work through an article the NYT published January 21, 2007 describing problems the city of Clarkston, GA was having accommodating The Fugees, teams of refugee soccer players coached by Luma Mufleh, a Jordanian immigrant.

Review: An ordinary person's guide to empire by Arundhati Roy

An ordinary person's guide to empire by Arundhati Roy
200 pages, softcover ISBN: 0896087271

Yes, revolution is in the air.